Project Space Award

The Project Space Award will be handed out for the ninth time on Thursday, 10 September 2020. Under them motto *move it, this year Netzwerk freier Berliner Projekträume und –initiative addresses the special situation of the pandemic and celebrates the prize winners with a feeder ride in the city. The award winners will start off in rickshaws from their respective locations and the prizes will be presented by Dr. Klaus Lederer, Senator for Culture and Europe, at the final destination, Kunstpunkt Berlin. The rickshaw tours will be accompanied by artistic interventions undertaken by the artist Laura Mello. Along the feeder ride, a street-side audience maintaining coronavirus social distancing rules will be welcome. The award ceremony for this year’s Project Space Prize will be held at Kunstpunkt Berlin, Schlegelstrasse 6, 10115 Berlin, maintaining the coronavirus rules applicable at the time.

In a sense forming collectively the city’s largest exhibition space, Berlin’s project spaces and initiatives contribute to decentralization, variety, and diversity. The city needs us, and we need security to pay our rents, to secure our own livelihoods, and to help preserve our autonomy. *Let’s move in solidarity!

A great deal of what is internationally seen as contemporary art in Berlin takes place at the city’s project spaces and initiatives, where processual, participatory, and discursive formats have their origin. More than 150 free project spaces and initiatives exist in Berlin. Since 2012, Berlin’s Senate Department of Culture has been awarding prizes for their important work. This year, ten project spaces and initiatives will each be awarded a sum of 10,000 euros. As in past years, the Netzwerk freier Berliner Projekträume und initiativen will be responsible for organizing the prize ceremony.

Award winners 2020: Arts of the Working Class, bi’bak, Cashmere Radio, Crystal Ball, Display, Kunstasphalt | Galerie Maifoto, Peles Empire, oqbo | raum für bild wort und ton, The Watch, Trust


*Move It—Preisverleihung
10 SEP, from 6pm