›BAW Garten‹. A Date with Daniela Bershan (Coven Berlin), Mooni Perry (ars viva 2022) and Bendik Giske (Berliner Festspiele/The New Infinity)

Artist talk

Due to the weather, the event will be moved to Kindl—Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst.

On this date, we’ll get to know artists from this year’s Berlin Art Week programme better and learn about the role that art plays in their lives. Moderated by the performance collective Gob Squad, we will obtain personal portraits as close ups of the guests, from their favourite food to dream images. The audience shouldn’t expect a dry interview, but a playful approach.

For 25 years now, the Gob Squad collective has worked between the realms of theatre, art, and the media with its productions and live performance, always in search of beauty in the banal. Gob Squad was founded in Nottingham, England by students at Nottingham Trent University and graduates of Universität Gießen’s programme in theatre studies. Berlin has been their artistic centre and production location since 1999.

 

WED 15 SEP

5.30—6.15pm
A Date with Daniela Bershan, Coven Berlin
in English

6.15—7pm
A Date with Mooni Perry, ars viva 2022
in English

7—7.45pm
A Date with Bendik Giske, Berliner Festspiele/The New Infinity
in English

---

Daniela Bershan
Daniela Bershan a.k.a. Baba Electronica is an artist, DJ and independent researcher. Through her work—ranging from sculpture and performance to community building and sound—she proposes practices of collective intimacy and care as a way to study and honor affective and relational structures.
Berlin Art Week programme: ›Ocean‹ as part of the performance series Somabog, Coven Berlin c/o Kunstpunkt Berlin
 

Mooni Perry
Mooni Perry was born 1990 in Seoul, KR. In her film-based works and installations she investigates human-animal studies, veganism, and (Asian-)feminism. In this year 2021, she will launch an Asian feminist platform-‘AFSAR (Asian Feminist Studio for Art and Research) in Berlin with curator Hanwen Zhang funded by Stiftungkunstfonds, Germany and Arts Council Korea. By calling the other artists, theorists, activists through this platform she expects to formulate a massive but loosely connected archive of valuable practices and researches all around the world.
Berlin Art Week programme: ars viva 2022, Brücke-Museum

Bendik Giske
Bendik Giske (NO/DE) is a composer, saxophonist and performer whose expressive use of physicality, vulnerability and endurance have already won him much critical acclaim including The Financial Times, Metal, The FADER, Resident Advisor, BBC 6 Music and many more.
Berlin Art Week programme: Perspicus as part of Berliner Festspiele/The New Infinity

›BAW Garten‹ in cooperation with Gob Squad

Duration: {{fromTo}}

Location

›BAW Garten‹. Ein Date mit Daniela Bershan (Coven Berlin), Mooni Perry (ars viva 2022) und Bendik Giske (Berliner Festspiele/The New Infinity)

Künstler*innengespräch

Wetterbedingt wird die Veranstaltung in die Räumlichkeiten des Kindl—Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst verlegt.

Bei diesem Date lernen wir junge Künstler*innen aus dem diesjährigen Programm der Berlin Art Week näher kennen und erfahren, welche Rolle die Kunst in ihrem Leben spielt. Moderiert vom Performancekollektiv Gob Squad erhalten Sie persönliche Portraits als Nahaufnahmen der Gäste—vom Lieblingsessen bis zu Traumbildern. Das Publikum erwartet kein trockenes Interview, sondern eine spielerische Annäherung. 

Seit 25 Jahren bewegt sich das Kollektiv Gob Squad mit ihren Inszenierungen und Darstellungen von Live-Performances zwischen Theater, Kunst und Medien. Stets auf der Suche nach der Schönheit im Banalen. Gob Squad gründeten sich in Nottingham, England, aus ehemaligen Student*innen der Nottingham Trent University und Absolvent*innen der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft Gießen. Seit 1999 ist Berlin zum künstlerischen Zentrum und Produktionsstandort geworden.

 

MI 15 SEP

17.30—18.15 Uhr
Ein Date mit Daniela Bershan, Coven Berlin
in englischer Sprache

18.15—19 Uhr
Ein Date mit Mooni Perry, ars viva 2022
in englischer Sprache

19—19.45 Uhr
Ein Date mit Bendik Giske, Berliner Festspiele/The New Infinity
in englischer Sprache

---

Daniela Bershan
Daniela Bershan alias Baba Electronica ist eine Künstlerin, DJane und unabhängige Forscherin. In ihrer Arbeit, die von Skulptur und Performance bis hin zu Gemeinschaftsbildung und Sound reicht, schlägt sie Praktiken kollektiver Intimität und Fürsorge vor, um affektive und relationale Strukturen zu untersuchen und zu würdigen.
Berlin Art Week Programm: ›Ocean‹ als Teil der Performancereihe Somabog, Coven Berlin c/o Kunstpunkt Berlin

Mooni Perry
Mooni Perry wurde 1990 in Seoul, KR, geboren. In ihren filmbasierten Arbeiten und Installationen beschäftigt sie sich mit Mensch-Tier-Studien, Veganismus und (asiatischem) Feminismus. In diesem Jahr, 2021, wird sie zusammen mit der Kuratorin Hanwen Zhang in Berlin eine asiatische feministische Plattform ins Leben rufen - AFSAR (Asian Feminist Studio for Art and Research), die von der Stiftung Kunstfonds, Deutschland, und dem Arts Council Korea gefördert wird. Indem sie andere Künstler*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Aktivist*innen über diese Plattform einlädt, versucht sie ein umfangreiches Archiv wertvoller Praktiken und Forschungen auf der ganzen Welt zu schaffen.
Berlin Art Week Programm: ars viva 2022, Brücke-Museum

Bendik Giske
Bendik Giske (NO/DE) ist ein Komponist, Saxophonist und Performer, dessen ausdrucksstarker Einsatz von Körperlichkeit, Verletzlichkeit und Ausdauer ihm bereits viel Kritiker*innenlob eingebracht hat, darunter The Financial Times, Metal, The FADER, Resident Advisor, BBC 6 Music und viele mehr.
Berlin Art Week Programm: Perspicus als Teil der Reihe The New Infinity von den Berliner Festspielen 

›BAW Garten‹ in Kooperation mit Gob Squad

Laufzeit: {{fromTo}}

Lage