Exhibition Opening

Enigma#59: Roman

Solo exhibition by Bili Bidjocka

Is Bili Bidjocka a visual artist? He clearly has writers’ envy. Or maybe he does something writers can’t do? Words in art are things, not units of meaning. The writing on the wall becomes image, and functions differently from, let’s say, the semantic apparatus of a novel. However, Bidjocka flirts with the idea that the (subliminal) meaning in those images convey an enigma. 

The exhibition holds the promise of sovereign indifference to instrumental (practical, functional, political and economic) reason. As a consequence, the exhibition directs its opposition against the exhausting demand for ›meaning‹ and the incessant flow of communicative action and exuberant performativity, towards a via negativa of discomfort and loss, creating a recalcitrant space of subjective and fictional symbolic acts.

 

This exhibition takes place in the framework of ›Vulnerable Archives. On Silenced Archives and Dissenting Views‹—a project by SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin), in collaboration with R22 Tout-Monde (together with Atelier Medicis [Clichy/Montfermeil], Un Lieu pour respirer [Les Lilas], Rester. Etranger [Saint-Denis]), After the Archive? (Istanbul), and Archive Books (Milan). Funded by and in cooperation with Allianz Kulturstiftung and in cooperation with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (House of World Cultures) in the framework of The Whole Life: An Archive Project, supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media due to a ruling of the German Bundestag.

Duration: {{fromTo}}

Location

Ausstellung Eröffnung

Enigma#59: Roman

Einzelausstellung von Bili Bidjocka

Ist Bili Bidjocka ein bildender Künstler? Er ist eindeutig neidisch auf die Schriftsteller:innen. Oder macht er vielleicht etwas, was Schriftsteller:innen nicht können? Worte in der Kunst sind Dinge, keine Bedeutungseinheiten. Die Schrift an der Wand wird zum Bild und funktioniert anders als, sagen wir, der semantische Apparat eines Romans. Dennoch kokettiert Bidjocka mit der Idee, dass die (unterschwellige) Bedeutung in diesen Bildern ein Rätsel darstellt. 

Die Ausstellung verspricht eine souveräne Gleichgültigkeit gegenüber der instrumentellen (praktischen, funktionalen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen) Vernunft. Folglich richtet die Ausstellung ihren Widerstand gegen die erschöpfende Forderung nach ›Bedeutung‹ und den unaufhörlichen Strom kommunikativer Aktivitäten und überbordender Performativität hin zu einer Via Negativa des Unbehagens und des Verlusts, indem sie einen widerspenstigen Raum subjektiver und fiktionaler symbolischer Akte schafft.

Diese Ausstellung findet im Rahmen von ›Vulnerable Archives. On Silenced Archives and Dissenting Views‹—ein Projekt von SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin), in Zusammenarbeit mit R22 Tout-Monde (zusammen mit Atelier Medicis [Clichy/Montfermeil], Un Lieu pour respirer [Les Lilas], Rester. Etranger [Saint-Denis]), After the Archive? (Istanbul), und Archive (Mailand).Gefördert durch und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Allianz Kulturstiftung und in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin im Rahmen von The Whole Life: Ein Archivprojekt, gefördert durch den Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.

Laufzeit: {{fromTo}}

Lage