Courtesy der Künstler

The exhibition ›Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief‹ by the Berlin-based artist Michael Stevenson (born in 1964, NZ) presents an unconventional invocation of his practice over the past 35 years. Since the 1980s Stevenson has developed an artistic language that operates at the juncture of economy, technology, education, and faith, exploring the infrastructural systems that condition these disciplines and their entanglement. The exhibition marks Stevenson’s first institutional solo presentation in Berlin and presents a focused revision of his work, in which early paintings are brought into dialogue with more recent expansive installation.

Fragmentation becomes the default mode to display older bodies of work akin to the boneyards of industry. Navigation in these galleries is through analogy—that of a great fish or a whale’s digestive tract. In this way, architecture becomes anatomy and, by extension, the contents therein, on the floor, on the wall, studies in its entrails. With this exhibition, Stevenson provides insights from the belly of our constructed world to raise awareness that disproving rational theories does not automatically and irrevocably equal disbelief.

›Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief‹ is co-presented in partnership with Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art (Kunstinstituut Melly) in Rotterdam, where a previous iteration was presented from 20 SEP 2020 to 14 FEB 2021.

Duration: {{fromTo}}

Location

Courtesy der Künstler

Die Ausstellung ›Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief‹ des in Berlin lebenden Künstlers Michael Stevenson (*1964, NZ) präsentiert einen unkonventionellen Rückblick auf die künstlerische Praxis Stevensons der vergangenen 35 Jahre. Seit den 1980er Jahren hat Stevenson eine künstlerische Sprache entwickelt, die an der Schnittstelle von Ökonomie, Technologie, Bildung und Glauben operiert und die infrastrukturellen Systeme, die diese Disziplinen bedingen, sowie deren Verschränkung untersucht. Die Ausstellung markiert Stevensons erste institutionelle Einzelpräsentation in Berlin und bietet eine fokussierte Neubetrachtung seines Werks, in der frühe Malereien mit neueren raumgreifenden Installationen in Dialog gesetzt werden.

Fragmentierung wird zur standardisierten Darstellungsweise für ältere Werkgruppen, im Stile der Boneyards der Industrie. Die Navigation durch die Ausstellung erfolgt über die Analogie eines großen Fisches oder des Verdauungstrakts eines Wals. Die Architektur wird so zur Anatomie und damit auch der Inhalt darin, auf dem Boden, an der Wand zu Studien seiner Eingeweide. Mit seiner Ausstellung gewährt der Künstler Einblicke aus dem Bauch eines Wales in die Ursprünge unserer konstruierten Welt, um unser Bewusstsein dafür zu schärfen, dass eine Widerlegung rationaler Theorien nicht automatisch und unwiderruflich mit Unglauben gleichzusetzen ist.

›Disproof Does Not Equal Disbelief‹ wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Formerly known as Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art (Kunstinstituut Melly) in Rotterdam präsentiert, wo vom 20 SEP 2020 bis 14 FEB 2021 eine frühere Version der Ausstellung präsentiert wurde.

Laufzeit: {{fromTo}}

Lage