Performance. With all Senses / Hajnal Németh

›Five Songs, One End, 2021‹

With a five-part performance series, Berlin Art Week will explore ›BAW Garten‹ at Kindl—Center for Contemporary Art. The extensive programme of outreach and education and this meeting point during the festival week are a novel addition. We want to use the performative moment to explore and get a feel for the space, to take it in spatially, sonically, physically, and visually. 

Our guest at ›BAW Garten‹: Hajnal Németh

 

Five Songs, One End—a piece by Hajnal Németh
Based on Tomas Schmit, Two Compositions to Justify a Performance (#25), 1964
Performed by: Tobias Christl, Júlia Koffler, Erik Leuthäuser, Fama M’Boup, Dora Osterloh

Hajnal Németh works at the intersection of visual art and music. Her interdisciplinary work includes performances, spatial installations, and moving image formats. Her works are based on notations, song lyrics, poems, or prose fragments from sources as diverse as pop music, classical genres, Fluxus scores, as well as the artist’s own texts. Her experimental handling of time, rhythm, and intonation, as well as her playful questioning of structures of meaning often manifest themselves in minimalist interventions in existing material, with which she twists the meaning of a spoken or sung sentence, for example. In her ongoing collaborations with singers, choirs, and actors, she shows how contexts can be arbitrarily constructed and then dissected again. In her exploration of Tomas Schmit’s work, Németh has explicitly based her interpretations on pieces that declare the principle of chance to be the measure of meaning or which destabilize the perception of time and duration in a conceptual inversion.

Hajnal Németh (*1972 in Szőny / Hungary) lives and works in Berlin. In 2020 she founded Yellow Solo, a project space in Berlin for time- and process-based artistic formats that explore musical systems and references—including works by Arnold Dreyblatt, Dani Gal, Annika Kahrs, Anri Sala, André Vida, among others. Németh’s work has been presented in numerous solo and group exhibitions at renowned art institutions, including: The Jewish Historical Museum, Amsterdam (solo, 2017); Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2017; 2016; 2003); Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2015–2017); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2012); Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien (mumok), Vienna (2009); Gropius Bau, Berlin (2005); Tate Modern, London (2004). In 2011, Németh presented her work in a solo exhibition at the Hungarian pavilion at the Venice Biennale.

Duration: {{fromTo}}

Location

Performance. Mit allen Sinnen / Hajnal Németh

›Five Songs, One End, 2021‹

Mit der 5-teiligen Performance-Reihe erkunden wir als Berlin Art Week den ›BAW Garten‹ am Kindl—Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst. Das umfangreiche Vermittlungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm und auch dieser Treffpunkt während der Festivalwoche sind ein Novum. Das performative Moment wollen wir nutzen, um den Ort zu ertasten und zu erkunden, ihn räumlich, klanglich, körperlich und visuell einzunehmen.

Hajnal Németh zu Gast im ›BAW Garten‹

 

Five Songs, One End—ein Stück von Hajnal Németh
Basierend auf Tomas Schmit, Two Compositions to Justify a Performance (#25), 1964
Aufgeführt von: Tobias Christl, Júlia Koffler, Erik Leuthäuser, Fama M’Boup, Dora Osterloh

Hajnal Németh arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von bildender Kunst und Musik, ihr interdisziplinäres Schaffen umfasst Performances, Rauminstallationen und Bewegtbildformate. Ihre Werke gründen auf Notationen, Liedtexten, Gedichten oder Prosafragmenten aus so unterschiedlichen Quellen wie der Popmusik, klassischen Genres, Fluxus-Scores sowie Texten der Künstlerin. Ihr experimenteller Umgang mit Zeit, Rhythmus, Intonation sowie ihre spielerische Hinterfragung von Bedeutungsstrukturen manifestieren sich oft in minimalistischen Eingriffen in das vorhandene Material, mit denen sie etwa den Sinn eines gesprochenen oder gesungenen Satzes verdreht. In ihrer fortdauernden Zusammenarbeit mit Sänger*innen, Chören und Schauspieler*innen zeigt sie, wie Zusammenhänge arbiträr konstruiert und wieder seziert werden können. In Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk Tomas Schmits hat Németh als Grundlage ihrer Interpretationen explizit solche Stücke ausgewählt, die das Zufallsprinzip zum sinnstiftenden Maßstab erklären oder die Wahrnehmung von Zeit und Dauer in einem konzeptuellen Umkehrschluss destabilisieren.

Hajnal Németh (*1972 in Szőny / Ungarn) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. 2020 gründete sie den Berliner Projektraum Yellow Solo für zeit- und prozessbasierte Formate, die sich mit musikalischen Systemen und Bezügen auseinandersetzen—bisher wurden u. a. Werke von Arnold Dreyblatt, Annika Kahrs und Hassan Khan gezeigt. Némeths Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in renommierten Kunstinstitutionen präsentiert, u. a.: The Jewish Historical Museum, Amsterdam (Solo, 2017); Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2017; 2016; 2003); Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2015–2017); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2012); Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien (2009); Gropius Bau, Berlin (2005); Tate Modern, London (2004). 2011 präsentierte Németh ihr Werk in einer Einzelausstellung im Ungarischen Pavillon auf der Biennale Venedig.

Laufzeit: {{fromTo}}

Lage