Tom Woo

Tom Woo. © Marjorie Brunet Plaza

Gallerist Tom Woo on eggshell yellow canvases, ›Talking Prices‹ and the freedom of art

What are you working on at the moment?
We have a lot planned! Besides the next gallery shows with Megan Marrin, Claudia Hill, Anne Speier, and Aura Rosenberg, we’ll also be participating in the Basel, Paris, London, and Cologne art fairs this autumn.

Who or what has influenced you in your work?
I am inspired above all by the content of discussions with our artists and implementing the exhibitions, but also by realising the strategic vision of the gallery, especially with regard to our long-term plans. On a day-to-day basis, I value exchanges and stimulating conversations with gallery co-founder Stavros, programme director Tenzing, and our team.

What artwork do you return to again and again?
I am currently very often looking at a work by Monika Baer that hangs next to my desk at home. It is an eggshell-yellow canvas with metal hinges on the side. The subtle, relief-like forms remind me of an archaeological excavation site just before a major find.

What would you do if you didn’t work in the arts?
To be honest, I can’t imagine anything else (laughs). I’m already far too deep into this art thing! As a kid I really wanted to be an architect, which still makes sense, because I’m particularly fascinated by the spatial aspect of art exhibitions and viewing.

What are you reading or listening to at the moment?
I recently re-read ›Talking Prices‹ by Olav Velthuis to refresh my memory of what he says about the mechanisms of price formation. I love thinking about how art gets its monetary value, the factors that affect it.

What should art today be able to do, in your opinion?
The great thing about art is that it doesn’t have to do anything and can still do almost everything.

What aspect of the pre-pandemic world do you grieve—and what things do you not miss at all?
I miss mask-less faces, spontaneous handshakes and hugs as opposed to awkward, tentative greetings. I can’t say I miss crowds that block the view of the artworks, although I have missed the crowds at our openings and events.

If you had to sum up your work in one word, what would it be?
I connect. I make it easier for our team, the artists, and other staff and collaborators to accomplish what we set out to do.

Do you have a daily ritual?
I close my eyes and breathe to regulate the rhythm of my heart. It clears my head and makes it easier to find inner balance.

What art or culture-related events do you look forward to in the near future?
I look forward to seeing a lot more art in person again—and to more frequent visits to the Berliner Philharmonie and the opera.

EFREMIDIS
Megan Marrin. Compliance
4 SEP—17 OCT 2021
Special Opening Hours Berlin Art Week
17—19 SEP 2021, 11am—7pm

 

 

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE THIS

Tom Woo

Tom Woo. © Marjorie Brunet Plaza

Der Galerist Thomas Woo über eierschalengelbe Leinwände, ›Talking Prices‹ und die Freiheit der Kunst

Woran arbeiten Sie gerade?
Wir haben viel vor! Neben den nächsten Galerieausstellungen mit Megan Marrin, Claudia Hill, Anne Speier und Aura Rosenberg sind wir diesen Herbst auf Kunstmessen in Basel, Paris, London und Köln vertreten.

Wer oder was hat Sie in Ihrer Arbeit beeinflusst?
Mich inspiriert vor allem die inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung mit unseren Künstler*innen und die Realisierung der Ausstellungen, aber auch das Umsetzen der strategischen Vision der Galerie, insbesondere was unsere langfristigen Pläne angeht. Im Alltag schätze ich den Austausch und die anregenden Gespräche mit Stavros, dem Mitbegründer der Galerie, Tenzing, dem Programmdirektor, und unserem Team.

Zu welchem Kunstwerk kehren Sie immer wieder zurück?
Zurzeit betrachte ich oft eine Arbeit von Monika Baer, die bei mir zuhause neben meinem Arbeitstisch hängt. Es ist eine eierschalengelbe Leinwand mit seitlich angebrachten Metallscharnieren. Die subtilen, reliefartigen Formen erinnern mich an eine archäologische Ausgrabungsstätte kurz vor einem bedeutenden Fund.

Was würden Sie machen, würden Sie nicht mit Kunst arbeiten?
Ehrlich gesagt kann ich mir gar nichts anderes mehr vorstellen (lacht). Das mit der Kunst ist schon viel zu weit fortgeschritten! Als Kind wollte ich unbedingt Architekt werden, was heute immer noch Sinn ergibt, denn der räumliche Aspekt von Kunstausstellungen und -betrachtung fasziniert mich besonders.

Was lesen oder hören Sie gerade?
Ich habe das Buch ›Talking Prices‹ von Olav Velthuis wieder zur Hand genommen, um mich daran zu erinnern, was er über die Mechanismen der Preisbildung sagt. Ich finde es spannend, darüber nachzudenken, wie der monetäre Wert von Kunst gestaltet wird.

Was muss Kunst heute Ihrer Meinung nach können?
Das tolle an der Kunst ist, dass Sie nichts leisten muss und trotzdem fast alles tun kann.

Welchem Aspekt der Prä-Pandemie-Welt weinen Sie eine Träne nach—und welchem nicht?
Ich vermisse maskenfreie Gesichter, spontane Handschläge und Umarmungen statt ungeschickter, zögernder Begrüßungen. Die Menschenmengen, die einem die Sicht auf die Kunstwerke versperren, vermisse ich nicht, obwohl mir die Menschentrauben bei unseren Eröffnungen und Veranstaltungen schon gefehlt haben.

Wenn Sie Ihre Arbeit auf einen Begriff bringen müssten—welcher wäre das?
Ich verbinde. Ich erleichtere es unserem Team, den Künstler*innen und anderen Mitarbeiter*innen, die Ziele zu erreichen, die wir anstreben.

Haben Sie ein tägliches Ritual?
Ich schließe meine Augen und atme, um meinen Herzrhythmus zu regulieren. Das räumt meinen Kopf auf und erleichtert das innere Gleichgewicht.

Worauf freuen Sie sich in nächster Zeit im Kunst- und Kulturbereich?
Ich freue mich darauf, wieder viel mehr Kunst live zu sehen—und wieder mehr in die Berliner Philharmonie und die Oper zu gehen.

EFREMIDIS
Megan Marrin. Compliance
4 SEP—17 OKT 2021
Sonderöffnungszeiten Berlin Art Week
17—19 SEP 2021, 11—19 Uhr

DAS KÖNNTE IHNEN AUCH GEFALLEN