The Watch, Publikation 2017, Chris Gylee
The Watch, Publikation 2017, Chris Gylee

The 10 winners of this year's PROJECT SPACE AWARD have been announced

Even in these turbulent times, the promotion of the independent art scene is guaranteed: Today the Senate Department for Culture and Europe announced the 10 prize winners of this year’s PROJECT SPACE AWARD (Award for artistic project spaces and initiatives)! Selected by the jury were: Trust, oqbo | raum für bild wort und ton, Display, Cashmere Radio e.V., Kunstasphalt e.V., The Watch, Crystal Ball, bi’bak, Arts of the Working Class und Peles Empire. With Cashmere Radio e.V. as an experimental radio station, Arts of the Working Class as an independent journal for art and society and The Watch as an exhibition space in a former GDR border guard tower, the spectrum of representatives from Berlin’s independent art scene is diverse and interdisciplinary. Congratulations to all award winners!

The PROJECT SPACE AWARD 2020 will be presented during Berlin Art Week in September. At that time the 10 award winners will also present their exhibitions, performances and other events. Instead of awarding only 5 project spaces with 20,000 € each, as initially planned, the Senate Department for Culture and Europe decided to adapt the awarding conditions to the existentially difficult situation of the project space operators and initiatives and now awards 10 prizes of 10,000 € each. The jury, consisting of Marie Sophie Beckmann, Çağla Ilk, Henrik Mayer, Karin Scheel, and Raaf van der Sman, selected the winners from 86 applicants.

You might also like this